Keene Chamber of Commerce  
Fourth of July Parade and Celebration
July 04, 2018 at 9 a.m.
Old Betsy Road and Leiske-Pultar Gymnasium - Keene, Texas

Longtime Keene Realtor and recently retired John Read and his sister and office manager, Betty Price, are the grand marshals and Pinnacle Bank Keene vice president Janet Goodman is parade marshal for the 29th annual Keene Fourth of July Parade at 9 a.m. July 4.
Following the parade, entertainment, games and food will be available from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Leiske-Pultar Gymnasium at Old Betsy Road and Magnolia Drive on the campus of Southwestern Adventist University.
Read retired June 19 after three decades of managing Read-Billingsley Real Estate. Prior to that Dr. Read served on the music faculty at Southwestern Adventist University. 
Goodman has chaired the committee that plans Keene’s July 4 Celebration for more than 20 years. She served many years as treasurer of the Keene Chamber of Commerce, including one term as president.
The parade route begins facing east on Magnolia Drive next to Leiske-Pultar and facing north on North College Drive. Registration is at the tennis courts on Magnolia. Staging for all vehicle and animal entries will be there beginning at 7 a.m. Entries must be registered by 7:30 a.m. to be judged.
Parade registration is $10 per entry. Registration is open until 8:50 a.m. on parade day.
The Johnson County Sheriff’s Office color guard will lead the parade.
The parade will proceed north on North College Drive to W. Oakdale, west on W. Oakdale to Old Betsy Road, south on Old Betsy to Hillcrest, west on Hillcrest to Oakwood, south on Oakwood to Fourth Street, east on Fourth to Old Betsy, and north on Old Betsy to Magnolia and east on Magnolia to North College Drive.
Parade participants distributing candy or other goodies must do so only by people walking along the solid white lines on Old Betsy Road on the northbound portion only. Candies or other edibles cannot be thrown from a float or any other parade entry.  

Judging of entries
Judging will take place before the parade. First-place ribbons will be awarded in these categories: Best All Terrain Vehicle; Best Decorated 4-Wheel Vehicle; Best Decorated 2-Wheel Entry; Best Decorated Antique Vehicle; Best Decorated Float; Best Animal Entry (non-equestrian); Best Horse Entry; Best Business Entry and Best Children’s Entry.

Viewing for veterans
A special viewing area for veterans will be located along Old Betsy Road in front of Pinnacle Bank.

Celebration activities
After the parade, at about 10 a.m., James Winegardner will serve as emcee for the entertainment and activities, beginning with the posting of the colors by the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office Color Guard and the singing of the national anthem by Keene ISD Supt. Ricky Stephens and his daughter, Mallory Stephens, at the Leiske-Pultar Gymnasium.
There will be continuous door prizes, face painting and a dessert auction that includes by-the-slice availability.
Entertainers to follow include a gymnastic program, Ann Shaw, Steve Francisco, Clay Read, Terry Darnall, Bobby Rael, Janet Tidwell and Heritage Harmony. 

Raffle tickets on sale
The winning raffle ticket for the original oil painting donated for the 24th consecutive year by Sleepy Read, will be drawn at 12:30 p.m. Winners need not be present. Raffle tickets are $5 each or three for $10 and can be purchased before the event at Keene City Hall or Olivia’s Cafe, where the painting is on display.
Activities at the gym parking lot include food — hot dogs, veggie burgers, nachos, drinks, international dishes from a variety of cultures and snow cones — games and activities for children and teens including pony rides, pony cart rides, bounce houses, train rides, fire engine rides outside Leiske-Pultar.
The entertainment in the gym, including the balloon lady, will be free, but face painting, games and rides will require tickets, and food and drinks will require tickets or cash.
All proceeds from the Celebration go toward building a pavilion at Elisa Carver Park.
Vendors wanting a booth to sell items can pick up an application and pay the $35 fee at City Hall.

Planning committees
The parade is organized by the Keene Chamber of Commerce board of directors: Samantha Gillin, Amy Lingo, Dan Mertz, David Patterson, Jere Putnam, Roy Robinson, Cheryl Schram and Ken Shaw.
The Celebration Planning Committee members are Arcela Borland, Melba Bower, Mayor James Chapline, Nick Chesney, Lillian Davis, Sheila Galvan, Janet Goodman, Donny and Penny Gore, Beverly Hamilton, Debbie and Dale Hainey, Gary Heinrich, Ryan Howerton, Police Chief Emmitt Jackson, City Manager Brian LaBorde, Steve Martin, Gerald Mohr, Bugger Putnam, Johnny Shaw and Joyce Shaw. 

Contact Us
Keene Chamber of Commerce
110 S. Old Betsy Road
Keene, Texas 76059
(817) 556-2995
Upcoming Events
Harmon speaks for June 28 chamber luncheon
June 13, 2018 at 11:15 a.m.
Fourth of July Parade and Celebration
July 04, 2018 at 9 a.m.

Powered By Sagentic