Keene Chamber of Commerce  
30th annual Independence Day Parade and Celebration is July 4
July 04, 2019 at 9 a.m.
Pinnacle Bank and Leiske-Pultar Gymnasium - Keene, Texas

A longtime Keene businesswoman and a longtime employee of Southwestern Adventist University are marshals for the 30th annual Keene Fourth of July Parade at 9 a.m. July 4, along a new route. The parade theme is “Happy Birthday, America.”
Amy Lingo, manager of the Keene branch of Pinnacle Bank, will ride in the lead car as the grand marshal. Lingo has been with Pinnacle for 27 years. She currently serves as treasurer of the Keene Chamber of Commerce. 

Dale Hainey, director of plant engineering at SWAU is the parade marshal. Hainey has been with SWAU for 42 years, the last 25 as director of plant engineering. He is a member of the Keene Business Expo and Health Fair planning committee and the Keene July 4 Celebration committee.

Following the parade, entertainment, games and food will be available from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Leiske-Pultar Gymnasium at Old Betsy Road and Magnolia Drive on the campus of Southwestern Adventist University.
The parade begins at Old Betsy Road and Fourth Streets. Staging is at Pinnacle Bank for vehicles and at Chisholm Trail Academy for animals.
The parade route starts at Old Betsy and Fourth Street and proceeds north along Old Betsy to Magnolia, ending facing east on Magnolia.
Parade registration opens at 7:30 a.m. on the bank's south entrance. Entries must be registered by 8 a.m. to be judged.
Parade registration is $10 per entry. Registration is open until 8:50 a.m. on parade day.
The Johnson County Sheriff’s Office color guard will lead the parade.
Parade participants distributing candy or other goodies must do so only by people walking along the solid white lines on Old Betsy Road on the northbound portion only. Candies or other edibles cannot be thrown from a float or any other parade entry.

Judging of entries
Judging will take place before the parade. First-place ribbons will be awarded in these categories: Best All Terrain Vehicle; Best Decorated 4-Wheel Vehicle; Best Decorated 2-Wheel Entry; Best Decorated Antique Vehicle; Best Decorated Float; Best Animal Entry (non-equestrian); Best Horse Entry; Best Business Entry and Best Children’s Entry.

Viewing for veterans
A special viewing area for veterans will be located along Old Betsy Road in front of Pinnacle Bank.

Celebration activities
After the parade, at about 10 a.m., Keene Mayor Gary Heinrich will serve as emcee for the entertainment and activities, beginning with the posting of the colors, singing of the national anthem by Ysis España, and the Pledge of Allegiance led by Bugger Putnam at the air-conditioned Leiske-Pultar Gymnasium.
Parking for the Celebration is available at the Chan Shun Centennial Library, shopping centers on Old Betsy Road, and along the shoulders of Old Betsy Road.
Inside the gym there will be entertainment, a bake sale, Miss Aimee’s balloons, face painting, door prizes drawn periodically (raffle tickets are $1 each) and a drawing for a Sleepy Read painting (tickets are $5 each or 3 for $10). Entertainers include Espana, Heritage Harmony, Jessie Simmons, Bobby Rael, Clay Read, Janet Tidwell and Langdon. There will also be a 30- minute gymnastic performance.
Activities outside the gym include a 15-foot water slide, a children’s bounce house with small water slides, pony rides, train rides and fire trailer rides. There will be foods from around the world available from vendors. Activities end at 1 p.m. The entertainment is free, but there is a charge for food and games. All proceeds of the celebration go toward a pavilion to be built at Elisa Carver Park.

Planning committees
The parade is organized by the Keene Chamber of Commerce board of directors: Randy Anglada, Paul Gnadt, Carolyn Light, Amy Lingo, Dan Mertz, David Patterson, Travis Patterson, Cheryl Schram and Ken Shaw.
The Celebration Planning Committee members are Arcela Borland, Melba Bower, Ken Campbell, Nick Chesney, Michael Gibson, Janet Goodman, Donny Gore, Beverly Hamilton, Debbie and Dale Hainey, Gary Heinrich, Police Chief Emmitt Jackson, Lacey Lindbergh, Gerald Mohr, Bugger Putnam, Johnny Shaw, Joyce Shaw, and Fire Chief Dan Warner.

Contact Us
Keene Chamber of Commerce
110 S. Old Betsy Road
Keene, Texas 76059
(817) 556-2995
Upcoming Events
NBC 5's David Finfrock is luncheon guest June 27
June 02, 2019 at 11:30 a.m.
30th annual Independence Day Parade and Celebration is July 4
July 04, 2019 at 9 a.m.

Powered By Sagentic